MRI dataset; comparison between two SPM segmentation algorithms

Dear brainweb manager,
Hello, I am a graduate student at a Vanderbilt university, Electrical Engineering.
I am researching about comparison between two segmentation algorithms which are SPM from MATLAB and FSL. For this, I’d like to use your dataset, so I have tried to use them.
I set the gold-standard groundtruth with the Grey Matter from 20 anatomical models of 20 normal brains.
And I set the data for implementing each algorithm with ‘Normal Brain Database’. And I have tried to get the segmentation results from this whole-brain image to compare with the GM image from previous model.
The problem is that the sizes of the groundtruth and whole-brain dataset is different.
The groundtruth is 362x434x362, and the latter one is 181 x 217 x 181.
I found that the voxel size is double, but don’t know well how can I change the size of it.
I had tried to imresize for double it, but when I did it, the image was totally messed up.
So I am sending this email for getting any advice from you.
Thank you!
Sincerely,
Hyeonsoo Moon
M.S in Electrical Engineering
Featheringill Hall
Vanderbilt University, 400 24th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212
Phone: (615) 648 – 4508
Hyeonsoo.moon@vanderbilt.edu

Hi,

It seems like you require same voxel sizes for both volumes, rather than needing to scale the image.

If so, and using MINC, you may re-sample the volume to your reference image with mincresample (http://bic-mni.github.io/man-pages/man/mincresample):
mincresample wholebrain_volume.mnc wholebrain_volume_resampled.mnc -like ground_truth.mnc

You could convert the voxel to int type:
mincresample wholebrain_volume.mnc wholebrain_volume_resampled.mnc -like ground_truth.mnc -byte

Hope that helps,
Kelvin

1 Like

Thank you for your support.

I had tried the function imresize() first as you said, but it didn’t work well so I tried some bunch of ways.