Invitation to Sociological survey about neuroscience

Sociologist Giulia Anichini is a friend of the BIC, and is inviting researchers of all levels to take part in research about the practices and perceptions in neuroscience. For anyone who is interested, she will set up a one-hour meeting where a survey will be conducted. Please see further details below, and contact Dr. Anichini at giulia.anichini@ehess.fr to set up a meeting time. Thanks

I am a post-doctoral student and I’m currently working at CIRST (Interuniversity Center for Science and Technology Research). I am an anthropologist and realized my thesis on brain mapping practices and on the way in which researchers produce their results (based on MRI data from experiments or databases). I would like to focus my post-doctoral research on the digital infrastructures by which data are stored, organized and processed to understand the material, economic and social context that shapes the study of the brain. I’m looking for researchers (of all levels) to participate in a sociological survey on the use of databases in neuroscience. Volunteers will be invited for an initial interview (of approximately one hour) which might be followed by further meetings according to availability. Interviews will address topics such as: issues related to database design; collaboration between researchers and curators; data-sharing practices and new standards for the circulation of knowledge. Scientists who are interested in participating are invited to contact me at this address: giulia.anichini@ehess.fr
Thank you in advance for your collaboration